JONNY & THE BAPTISTS: EAT THE POOR

50-date UK tour this spring!

Three quarters of MPs are millionaires. A third of the country lives below the poverty line. Whatever your politics, Jonny & the Baptists think it’s worth talking about.

Following a smash hit (yeah that’s right we said it) Edinburgh premiere last year, our new show Eat The Poor is embarking on a 50-date UK tour in March-April-May! Most shows also include a warm-up set of ‘some hits’, plus we’ve been updating the script to account for (a small proportion of) the fully-fledged shitstorm that’s happened in the world since we first wrote it.

According to our press release, Eat The Poor is a “riotously funny musical comedy about inequality, revolution, friendship and betrayal. Join acclaimed musical comedians Jonny & the Baptists – stars of Radio 4’s The Now Show and BBC Live at Television Centre – for an epic tale of modern Britain.

Setting out to explore the gap between rich and poor, Jonny & the Baptists’ lives turn upside down when Jonny betrays Paddy for financial gain. As Jonny enjoys the highlife with Andrew Lloyd Webber and Jerry Hall, Paddy falls into homelessness and despair.”

SOUNDS PRETTY COOL RIGHT? Right! Right? Right.

Nice things people said about us in 2016…

★★★★ ‘Wickedly amusing’ The Times

★★★★ ‘Spirited comedy… broad, daft & punchy’ The Guardian

★★★★ ‘Uproarious satire from a double-act at the height of their powers’ The Stage

FULL TOUR SCHEDULE

5 MARCH – BRISTOL – Tobacco Factory Theatres | tobaccofactorytheatres.com

7-11 MARCH – EXETER Bike Shed Theatre | bikeshedtheatre.co.uk

12 MARCH – RICHMOND Orange Tree Theatre | orangetreetheatre.co.uk

16-18 MARCH – SALISBURY Salisbury Playhouse | salisburyplayhouse.com

21 MARCH – NORWICH Norwich Playhouse | norwichplayhouse.co.uk

22 MARCH – GUILDFORD Star Inn | guildfordfringe.com

23 MARCH – COLCHESTER Lakeside Theatre | lakesidetheatre.org.uk

24 MARCH – HARLOW Harlow Playhouse | harlowplayhouse.co.uk

25 MARCH – CARDIFF Chapter Arts Centre | chapter.org

28-29 MARCH – NEWCASTLE Northern Stage | northernstage.co.uk

30 MARCH – OXFORD Old Fire Station | oldfirestation.org.uk

31 MARCH – FARNHAM Farnham Maltings | farnhammaltings.com

1 APRIL – BEDFORD Quarry Theatre | quarrytheatre.org.uk

5 APRIL – SUNDERLAND Pop Recs, Sunderland Stages | sunderlandstages.co.uk

6 APRIL – READING South Street Arts | readingarts.com

7 APRIL – HAVANT The Spring Arts Centre | thespring.co.uk

8 APRIL – MILTON KEYNES The Stables | stables.org

11 APRIL – GLASGOW Platform | platform-online.co.uk

12 APRIL – LANCASTER The Dukes | dukes-lancaster.org

21 APRIL – CAMBRIDGE Cambridge Junction | junction.co.uk

22 APRIL – CALSTOCK Calstock Village Hall | calstockhall.com

28 APRIL – CARDIGAN Small World Theatre | smallworld.org.uk

29-30 APRIL – MACHYNLLETH Machynlleth Comedy Festival | machcomedyfest.co.uk

2-6 MAY – PLYMOUTH The Drum, Theatre Royal Plymouth | theatreroyal.co.uk

8-10 MAY – LONDON Soho Theatre | sohotheatre.com

11 MAY – BIRMINGHAM mac | macbirmingham.co.uk

12 MAY – CORSHAM Pound Arts | poundarts.org.uk

13 MAY – FRITWELL Fritwell Village Hall | fritwellvillagehall.co.uk

15 MAY – HOVE The Old Market | theoldmarket.com

19 MAY – FAREHAM Ashcroft Arts Centre | hampshireculturaltrust.org.uk

20 MAY – EASTLEIGH The Point | thepointeastleigh.co.uk

21 MAY – IPSWICH New Wolsey Theatre | wolseytheatre.co.uk

23 MAY – EDINBURGH The Stand | thestand.co.uk

24 MAY – GLASGOW The Stand | thestand.co.uk

25 MAY – MONIAIVE Craigdarroch Arms Hotel | craigdarrocharmshotel.co.uk

26 MAY – BARNSLEY The Civic | barnsleycivic.co.uk

27 MAY – SALFORD The Lowry | thelowry.com

Bloody hell that’s a lot of shows. See you there!

Big love,

P&J XX